Ra, Mackey, and Tchaikovsky

Electrifying Virtuosity


Renowned conductor Robert Spano leads the Curtis Symphony Orchestra in the final concert of its bold and ambitious 2023–24 season, a remarkable program featuring two exhilarating world premieres and a late-Romantic era classic. The afternoon opens with a newly commissioned work by James Ra. Praised by the Philadelphia Inquirer as “a composer to watch,” Ra’s compositions have been described as “coursing with adrenaline-pumping energy.”  

The program continues with GRAMMY Award-winning Curtis composition faculty member Steven Mackey’s Concerto for Electric Guitar, featuring the jaw-dropping virtuosity of guitarist JIJI, followed by Tchaikovsky’s impassioned, intensely personal Symphony No. 6 (“Pathétique”). 


Mar 09 2024


3:00 pm - 5:00 pm

More Info

Read More


Curtis Institute of Music


Curtis Institute of Music
Translate »
Scroll to Top